PHYSICS Department Information
  • About Dept
  • H.O.D
  • Faculties
  • Other staff
  • Infrastructure
  • Activities
  • Activities


The Department of Physics was established in July 1951 with two year Intermediate Course. Later, one year Pre-University Course (PUC) and three year Degree courses were introduced in the year 1953. In accordance with the Government regulations, two year Intermediate course (10+2+3 pattern) was introduced in 1969. With a view to encourage job oriented courses, Electronics was introduced as an optional subject along with Physics and Mathematics in 1986 with a sanctioned strength of 12. Gradually the number of seats was raised to 30.  
                  The founder Head of the Department Sri P.V. Somayajulu served the institution for only one year (1951-1952). Then Sri D. Upendra Rao took over charge as HOD.  
During his tenure of nearly three decades (1952-1982), he played a pivotal role in the all round development of the Department. He showed keen interest in getting lot of teaching aids and laboratory equipment to the Department under UGC and Special fees grants. The Department owes a lot to him for the services he rendered. Today, we are having fully equipped laboratories.                    
                                         During the tenure of the former HOD, Sri K. Subba Rao, the Department was annexed with Electronics and Computer courses. But later, they were delinked and a separate Department of Electronics and Computer Science (UG) was established under UASF courses banner.  In the year 2006, the management took a decision to remerge Electronics in the Department of Physics. From then onwards, our Dept. became the “Department of Physics & Electronics”.  The Department organized the prestigious two-day National Seminar on “Nano materials and Technology” on 9th and 10th January 2010, with the financial assistance from the UGC. Delegates from all over the country attended the Seminar. With the retirement of staff members, the number of aided staff members is reduced to 3 today. At present, there are 3 aided and 7 unaided staff members in the Department.                


Posupo Himakar


(Full Name in Capitals)
Designation : Lecturer 
Qualifications : M.Sc.,M.C.A.,M.Phil., SET.,
Address: Office     : HOD of  Physics, S.K.B.R. College,
Date of Birth : 19.05.1975
Phone No. :  9849712317
E-mail id :
Community : SC 
Date of joining in service : 01.10.2001
Academic Profile:
Name of the Degree Year of passing College/University Class obtained
U.G 1995 Andhra University, Visakhapatnam Second
P.G 1997 Andhra University, Visakhapatnam First
P.G.D.C.A. 1998 B.D.P.S, Mumbai First
M.C.A 2004 Andhra University, Visakhapatnam Second
M.Phil. 2011 Andhra University, Visakhapatnam O grade
SET 2015 Osmania University, Hyderabad        ---------
No. of Orientation/ Refresher 
Courses attended : 2 Orientation courses and 1 Refresher course
No. of Seminars/Workshops attended : 5 National seminars, 1 NMR training programme
Research experience : 5 years
Area of Research : Molecular Spectroscopy